Register for free »
and start contacting people
No photo available

Regie Abel

London N22

About me

Regie Abel

Personal Profile ?
I am an enthusiastic and responsible individual with varied experience of caring for children in a range of environments. These include family childcare, babysitting and nannying; volunteer and charity work for child care focused organisations (in both the UK and abroad); and caring for children (and adults) in a healthcare context during my time studying for a nursing degree at the University of Manchester. I am seeking a nannying position where I will be able to be involved in the development and growth of the children that I will be caring for.

Key Strengths
Ability to provide children with the care and support they require to develop into successful learners
Ability to create an environment for children which is stimulating, encouraging and adaptive to each child’s developmental needs.
Knowledge/experience of caring for ill children.
Good understanding or requirements of providing healthy diet.
Organised, energetic and creative with a good sense of humour and a genuine passion for child care.
?Education
?2006 - 2009, University of Manchester.?BNurs (Hons) in Nursing, 2:2

2002 - 2004, Camden School for Girls.?A Levels in - English (B), French (B), History (C).??1997 - 2002, Fortismere School. ?Ten GCSE's grade C or above. ?
Work Experience

Child Minding (2 daytimes per week), Mayhall Family, February – present.
Sole charge position for the 1 year old and 4 year old (both boys) of a professional couple in North London. Key responsibilities:-
Creating a positive and stimulating environment for both boys by… playing and stuff….
Picking up and dropping to nursery; organizing and accompanying to activities, playdates, excursions to parks/museums etc.
Ensuring a healthy diet and varied, regularly cooking and preparing nutritious meals.
Occasionally responsible for care in the evenings, including bedtimes.

Assistant Bar Manager, Slug and Lettuce, February 2010 – present .
Key responsibilities:-
Managing a large team of people
Planning and organising rota’s
Hiring
Regularly handling large amounts of cash.

Child Minding (3 Days per week), Stephens Family, Dec 2009 – April 2010.
Sole charge position for a 1 year old boy. Key responsibilities:-
Engaging in stimulating activities, entertaining and ensuring his safety throughout the day.
Preparing and cooking meals, ensuring he had a healthy and balanced diet.
Assisting with general housework as required.

University of Manchester Nursing Placements, Sept 2006 – July 2009
Nursing placements at hospitals including North Manchester, MRI and Stepping Hill, completed as part of nursing degree at the University of Manchester. Key responsibilities:-
Organising and managing wards (under supervision)
Liaising with bed managers to ensure the use of all facilities were maximized and coordinating care with multidisciplinary teams
Interacting with and assessing a wide range of patients, many of whom had communication difficulties greatly enhanced interpersonal skills?

Child Minding (5 Days per week), Mcrea Family, May 2005 – Sept 2006
Sole charge position for a 3 year old and 5 year old boys. Key responsibilities:-
Dropping and picking up from school, assisting with homework
School run
Aiding with homework
Organising stimulating and educational outings to benefit both children
Cooking and light housework.

Other Relevant Experience

Forest School Camps (FSC)

Volunteer member of staff with FSC, a charity organisation which aims to take inner city children on camping in the UK.

I am now a Group Leader, and thus responsible for the welfare, safety and enjoyment of up to 8 members of staff and 16 children when on camping excursions. We are jointly responsible for the children's welfare and safety 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during time spent on camps, along with organising a wide range of developmentally focused activities.

Travel and Volunteering in the Developing World

I have spent time living and travelling in Central America and South East Asia. In Mexico, I volunteered in an orphanage helping to care for children whose ages ranged from newborn to 4 years old where my duties were anything from playing and entertaining with the children, changing nappies, toileting older children, sole carer for newborn if necessary, feeding/helping to feed depending on age group, putting to bed.

References available

My requirements

I am interested in working in the following types of childcare:

  • Nanny - Live-out
  • Nanny - PA
  • Mother's help
  • Event childcarer
  • Resort childcarer

My availability

I am available for part-time work on the following days for up to 12 months:

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Morning
Afternoon
Evening/Babysitting
Overnight
Female
Non-smoker
Driver
8 years experience
First aid experience
Special needs experience
Contactable references
British national
Speaks English- mother Tongue French- conversational
Joined 7 years ago
Last logged in 8 years ago
X
Sending message…

We've sent your message